Zodiac: What you need to know about earth signs

Steady and reliable, these signs will always have your back.

Zodiac: What you need to know about earth signs
© The Tree of Life (2011) / River Road Entertainment, Plan B Entertainment
Zodiac: What you need to know about earth signs

Western astrology famously classifies its 12 zodiac signs into a few ways, most notably through the four elements: air, water, fire, and earth. Each element captures its respective signs’ vibes perfectly: air signs tend to be nebulous and inconsistent, fire signs are energetic and passionate, and water signs are emotional and intuitive. But what exactly are earth signs, and why is Capricorn one since it’s a sea goat?

Discover our latest podcast

Here's what you need to know about earth signs:

What are the earth signs?

The earth signs of the zodiac are Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn. As implied by the name, they’re always grounded, which means they’re not one to encourage flights of fancy or delusions of grandeur. They’re most known for their acts of service thanks to their stability and reliability—if you need help spiffing up your résumé or moving apartments, they’re the one to call, says Cosmopolitan.

What makes earth signs stand out from the rest?

Incredibly practical and rational, you can count on them to be honest with you about the potentially bad decisions you’re making. They are also the most patient people on the planet, making them one of the best friends you could ever have. They get a bad reputation for being boring since they’re typically governed by their sensibilities, but they are also one of the most sensual signs—they love delicious food, stylish clothes, and physical pleasures. As incredibly hard workers, they deserve to enjoy the many fruits of their labor, so they’re also fairly money-obsessed.

Zodiac: What you need to know about earth signs No Country for Old Men (2007) / Scott Rudin Productions, Mike Zoss Productions

How are the earth signs different from each other?

The earth signs express traits of the element in their unique way. Venusian Taurus has an eye for aesthetics, which they use to help manifest their heart’s desires. They also give stellar recommendations when it comes to their interests—food, music, clothes, or even movies, says Cosmopolitan. However, they can also be stubborn, indulgent, and possessive since commitment and loyalty are their priorities.

Virgos are analytical, so they express the logical and reasonable parts of their element very well. They’re known to be perfectionists, but they just value efficiency above all else—they hate wasting anyone’s time! Super organized and detail-oriented, they’re excellent investigators that know how to make sense out of chaos and disorder.

Capricorn is a cardinal sign, so that means they love getting things started, which is in line with their ambitious and diligent nature. They’re unafraid to take the reins and lead everyone, as they value control. However, they can come off as aloof and arrogant since they like to distance themselves, but make no mistake—this sea goat has a lot of feelings raging underneath. They just like to hide it!

Source used:

Cosmopolitan, “Everything You Need to Know About Earth Signs”

Read more:

These are the 4 most protective zodiac signs

Capricorn: Here are the perfect gifts for this zodiac sign

Sagittarius: Here are the perfect gifts for this zodiac sign

Here are the 5 most nervous zodiac signs Here are the 5 most nervous zodiac signs