Zodiac: Everything you need to know about air signs

Smart, sociable, and… Stone-hearted? Air signs always have people feeling like a tornado just ripped through them! Here’s what you need to know about what makes them tick.

Everything you need to know about air signs / Carey Mulligan, a gorgeous Gemini
© Promising Young Woman (2020) / Focus Features
Everything you need to know about air signs / Carey Mulligan, a gorgeous Gemini

If you’re familiar with Western astrology, then you’re likely aware that the 12 signs are divided into four elements: water, earth, fire, and air. It’s easy to guess the characteristics of other signs: fire signs tend to be passionate and energetic, earth signs are reliable and grounded, and water signs are intuitive and emotional. But what about air signs? Are they… air-headed?

Discover our latest podcast

Here's the low-down on air signs:

What are the air signs?

The air signs of the zodiac are Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius. They’re characterized by their intellectual curiosity, which means they love communicating, thinking outside-the-box, and acting on their ideas, says Lisa Stardust for Cosmopolitan. What makes them air signs is that they tend not to get too attached to what happens to them; they go where the wind takes them. They use their big brains to make sound decisions, unlike water signs, who tend to rely on their hearts for decision-making.

Everything you need to know about air signs The French Dispatch (2021) / Indian Paintbrush, American Empirical Pictures

What makes air signs stand out from the rest?

Air signs are all about information. Ideas, details, and achievements are always running through their head, according to Cosmopolitan. They’re adept at seeing situations from a rational point of view, removed from emotion. Unfortunately, that often makes them look unemotional, which is one of the biggest misconceptions about them—they feel a lot, they just prefer to keep their emotions hidden!

While they may seem icy, they’re one of the more sociable signs in the zodiac, as they know how to get along with most people. Lastly, they’re also forgiving, says Cosmopolitan, as they often have a clear perspective of the reason behind people’s actions. They know how to differentiate between genuine malice and lashing out due to unresolved hurts.

How are the air signs different from each other?

While the three air signs share many traits, they are also distinct from each other. Geminis are the most flexible and talkative, so they’re skilled at embracing everything life throws at them, taking both the good and the bad. According to Cosmopolitan, they’re always the first to share breaking news.

Libras are leaders, always prioritizing fairness and justice, making them the diplomats of the zodiac. They’re also incredibly flirtatious since they are the sign of relationships and beauty, notes Cosmopolitan, so there are always people crushing on them, too!

Aquarians are determined to fight for the collective, which means they’re always focused on the big picture. They’re the best at thinking of revolutionary, maybe even strange ideas, earning them the 'alien' reputation of the zodiac.

Read more:

Zodiac: These are the worst traits of an Aquarius

Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio: This is what your moon zodiac sign says about you

Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer: This is what your moon zodiac sign says about you

Here are the 5 most nervous zodiac signs Here are the 5 most nervous zodiac signs