Love language: Here's how to tell which one is yours

We take a look at the 5 different love languages to help you find the best way to show your partner love

What's your love language?
© Getty Images
What's your love language?

What makes one person feel loved does not necessarily work with another person. This is because their love language might be different!

Discover our latest podcast

The 5 love languages is a concept invented by Dr Gary Chapman and consists of quality time, words of affirmation, physical touch, gift-giving, and acts of service.

So if you and your partner want to feel especially loved, supported, or acknowledged, take a look at the list below and see which love language fits you both best!

1. Quality Time

For many, spending quality time with your partner is essential to a healthy and happy relationship. Quality time is all about giving your partner your undivided attention (so phones away)! Try scheduling specific activities with your partner that takes you both out of your daily routine to keep them feeling special!

2. Words of Affirmation

People with this love language feel most loved when they hear their partner verbalise how they feel. If your partner's love language is words of affirmation, they may appreciate handwritten notes, thoughtful texts, or simply a verbal confirmation of how much you love, care, value and respect them.

Want your partner to love you more? Crack their love language! Getty Images

3. Physical touch

Holding hands, cuddling, hair stroking... if you or your partner's love language is physical touch there's a chance you'll crave this type of attention. Add more physical touch into your daily life by holding your partner's hand while you talk to them, stroking their arm as you walk past, or offering to give them a back rub.

4. Gift giving

For some people, giving or receiving a meaningful and thoughtful gift means the world to them. Not only do they then have a special memento, but it helps to establish greater intimacyin the relationship as the gift receiver feels seen and understood.

5. Acts of service

Acts of service are all about making your partner's burden lighter by taking responsibility. So, take note of what's on your partner's to-do list (walking the dog? doing the dishes?) and see if you can provide some unprompted support. Or try and go out of your way to do something nice for your partner like cooking them dinner while they relax on the sofa.

Sources used:

She Knows: 'What Are the 5 Love Languages? Understanding Them Might Help Your Relationship'

Very Well Mind: 'What Are the Five Love Languages'

Read more:

Don't forget to look for these 3 green flags when dating!

This new dating trend will make you say goodbye to bad relationships

Intimate date ideas that will heighten the sexual tension

Choose the perfect Christmas present based on your partner's love language Choose the perfect Christmas present based on your partner's love language