People shocked after learning that chewing gum has this bizarre ingredient

You would not believe what chewing gum actually contains!

People shocked after learning that chewing gum has this bizarre ingredient
© Science Photo Library
People shocked after learning that chewing gum has this bizarre ingredient

We have all accepted chewing gum as an innocuous part of our lives. Though it does not serve a fixed purpose, people chew gum for a variety of reasons, be it to freshen their breath, whiten their teeth, for stress release or just out of sheer boredom. However, not many people actually know what exactly chewing gum contains and the truth might put you off of it forever.

Discover our latest podcast

As reported by The Sun, one of the most shocking ingredients in chewing gum is a chemical called lanolin. Lanolin is a waxy substance which comes from sheep’s skin gland.

Find out more about why people are freaking out after learning this information.

Some chewing gum might actually not be suitable for vegans Quinten de Graaf

Read more:

People shocked to learn the real reason why chip packets are always half empty

People shocked to realise what’s actually inside a Cadbury's Creme Egg

Chewing gum contains secretion from sheep’s skin

Lanolin is the waxy substance that makes sheep’s coat waterproof, and it is also a standard additive in manufacturing skin-care products.

The revelation is particularly troubling for vegans who do not consume animal by-products. The matter is complicated by the fact that manufacturers are not actually legally mandated to mention the use of lanolin since it is approved as a standard product in making chewing gum.

However, as per the report, many chewing gum companies today have switched to synthetic variations of lanolin such as polyethylene or synthetic resin.

Read more:

Is olive oil really a vegan friendly product?

Is chewing gum vegan?

So, it turns out that not all chewing gum are vegan i.e., there are a lot of gum brands in the market which directly or indirectly uses animal by-product. As reported by Vegan Friendly, it is still possible to find several chewing gum brands out there which are made only with plant-based ingredients.

In order to ascertain that the chewing gum you are picking up does not contain any animal by-product, check if the ingredient list has any of the following additives that comes from animals:

  • Gelatine, which comes from the hooves, skins, hide and bones of pigs and cows
  • Carmine, which is a red food dye derived from the cochineal insect
  • Glycerine which can be made from plants but is also sometimes made from tallow or animal fat

The article however, does not mention lanolin or how to avoid it. Needless to say, the safest course of action for vegans is to ensure they buy chewing gums which are labelled as being plant-based.

Sources used:

The Sun: ‘People are just realising how chewing gum is really made – and they’re disgusted’

Vegan Friendly: ‘Is Chewing Gum Vegan?’

4 health benefits of adding egg to your diet 4 health benefits of adding egg to your diet