OGGS Zesty Lemon Cake, which is sold in several UK supermarkets, is being recalled by Alternative Foods London Ltd. The product is being recalled because it contains soya which is not declared in the product’s allergy information. This makes the cake a health risk for anybody who has a soya allergy.
What should I do if I bought this product?
If you are allergic to soya, you should not eat this product. You should not serve it to anybody who has a soya allergy as it could make them very ill. Instead, you can return the product to the store where you bought it to receive a full refund.
The recall applies to 386g packs of OGGS Zesty Lemon Cake with Best Before dates of 26 January 2021; 02 February 2021; 09 February 2021 and 16 February 2021. If you’re not sure whether the cake you have bought is affected by the recall, you can find the Best Before date in the right hand corner of the packaging.
What is soya?
Soya, also known as soybean, is a common ingredient in many vegan foods, such as soymilk, tofu and tempeh, as it is versatile and an inexpensive source of protein. However, it is also one of the most common allergens. This means it must be clearly labelled as an allergen on all food packaging.
What is a food recall?
There are two main reasons for food recalls. Firstly, food allergy recalls are when allergy information was unclearly or incorrectly labelled on a product. This could cause a health risk to people with allergies. The second type are food safety recalls, when there is concern that products have been contaminated.