Stormzy Is Set To Star In The Upcoming Noughts And Crosses TV Series

The BBC is currently filming their TV adaptation of Malorie Blackman's critically-acclaimed Noughts And Crosses novel and they've just announced a very exciting new cast member.

Malorie Blackman's award-winning 2001 novel Noughts and Crosses is finally being adapted for the screen as a six-part BBC drama.

The series is set in an alternate universe much like our own but where segregation and discrimination are still rife and black people (known as Crosses) rule over an underclass of whites (Noughts). The first novel focuses on the forbidden love affair between Sephy, a Cross, and Callum, a Nought.

'A dream come true'

The BBC have now announced that none other than the UK's most popular grime artist, Stormzy, will be taking on a guest role in the series. As a 'die-hard fan' of Malorie Blackman's work, the rapper has described the opportunity as a 'dream come true'.

This won't be Stormzy's first acting job, as he previously had a cameo appearance in Michaela Coel's brilliant comedy series, Chewing Gum. He also played Yardz in Brotherhood - the sequel to Kidulthood and Adulthood - back in 2016.

A new instalment

Plus, there's even more good news for Malorie Blackman fans as the writer has penned a sixth Noughts and Crosses novel, entitled Crossfire which is set for release this August - over ten years after the most recent novel, Double Cross, back in November 2008.

Penguin says it will be perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and has this synopsis on their website: 'Thirty-four years have passed since Sephy Hadley - a Cross - first met Callum McGregor - a nought. Their love was forbidden, powerful - and deadly.

Life is seemingly very different now for noughts and Crosses - including for Sephy and Callum's families. But old wounds from the past are hard to heal, and when you're playing a game as dangerous as they are, it won't be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire.'

Crossfire is available to pre-order now on Amazon and will be released on 8th August 2019.

Check out the video above for all the details on the BBC adaptation and what Stormzy had to say about his involvement!

Image: Getty

As an Amazon Associate Ohmymag earns from qualifying purchases.

Love Island 2022: Ex of Geordie Shore star set to sign on for newest series Love Island 2022: Ex of Geordie Shore star set to sign on for newest series